Bylaws for promotion of Academic Support Staff


Introduction

Kuwait University aims at creating different levels for the Academic Support Staff where the promotion from one level to another is based on the academic achievement and professional excellence. In addition, it creates a competitive academic environment for competition and opportunities for professional and academic development. The promotion represents an incentive and acknowledgment for the individual’s accomplishments in these fields. These bylaws is applicable for those holding the following job titles: Clinical Instructor and Lecturer in the Health Sciences Centre, Language Teacher and Teaching Assistant).

Supporting Academic Staff are promoted at Kuwait University according to residency requirement and specified criteria, which should be satisfied during years of service in the current level of the applicant. Promotion policy is dynamic in nature and its criteria may change with time in response to the development of the university.

First: Promotion Criteria:

The criteria includes the following:

Teaching performance
The teaching performance is evaluated based on the following elements:
Writing a book or participating in writing a book.
Writing or participating in writing handouts/manuals for laboratory courses.
Supervising students’ projects and serving in the exam committees
Commitment to teaching and office hours, and providing care and attention to students.
Professional development activities which lead to improving teaching competence by attending conferences, workshops and training courses specialized in teaching.
CStudents’ evaluation of teaching, if applicable.
Research Outcomes:
Research outcomes are evaluated based on the following elements:
Publishing academic research.
Writing a research book or a chapter in a research book.
Academic participation in scientific conferences (abstract, poster or attending scientific conferences).
The administrative performance:
The administrative performance is evaluated based on fulfilling the following:
At least five years of residency1 in the current job level.
Obtaining “excellent” in the annual evaluations for the last two consecutive years before applying for the promotion.

Second: Promotion Requirements:

Promotion from the fourth level (Clinical instructor B, Language Teacher B, Teaching assistant B) to the third level (Clinical instructor A, Language teacher A, Teaching Assistant A) does not require the research outcomes condition and promotion will be based on fulfilling the teaching and administrative performance.
Promotion from the third level (Clinical instructor A, Language Teacher A, Teaching Assistant A) to the second level (Clinical Lecturer, Associate Language teacher, Associate Teaching Assistant), requires to have one of the research outcomes mentioned during residency at the current level in addition to fulfilling the teaching and administrative performance criteria.
Promotion from the second level (Clinical Lecturer, Associate Language Teacher, Associate Teaching Assistant) to the first level (Senior Clinical Lecturer, Senior Language Teacher, Senior Teaching Assistant) requires to have at least one published (or accepted for publication) research paper in a journal or in a local or international conference in the area of specialization of the applicant during the residency at the current level. In addition, the applicant should have one of the research outcomes mentioned above during the residency of the current level and should fulfill the teaching and administrative performance requirements.
Professional development activities which lead to improving teaching competence by attending conferences, workshops and training courses specialized in teaching.

It is the responsibility of the applicant and the academic department chair/unit head to present all the required information that documents the level of participation and accomplishments according to the promotion criteria.

Third:Promotion Procedure:
1. The applicant should apply to the department chair/unit head or the head in which he/she belongs with the following documents:
CV
The research outcomes for the promotion as mentioned above.
Documentation for the teaching performance as mentioned above.
2. Research outcomes are evaluated based on the following elements:
3. In case the residency and annual evaluation requirements are met, the the department chair/ unit head refers the promotion application to the promotion committee in the department/unit to evaluate the application according to the criteria and requirements of promotion.
4. In case of approving the promotion, the committee prepares the promotion file with its recommendations to the Dean of the College. The dean forwards the application to the College Committee, and after obtaining its recommendation, forwards the file to the Vice President for Academic Affairs with his recommendation about the promotion.
5. The Vice President for Academic Affairs refers the recommendation to the Appointment Committee for the Academic Support Staff at the university which is formed by the president. The Vice President for Academic Affairs, then forwards the application to the President along with the final recommendation .
6. The promotion decision will be issued by the President.
7. The job level of the members of the concerned committees in the department, unit or the college should not be less than the job level of the applicant.
8.The concerned committees may present a justified recommendation of not to proceed with the promotion based on the evaluation of the application. In this case, the applicant may apply for promotion whenever he/she fulfills the required conditions.
9. All promotion discussions and reports shall be confidential.

لائحـــة الترقيات لأعضـــاء الهيـــــئة الأكاديمــية المســانــدة


مقدمة:

تسعى جامعة الكويت إلى إيجاد عدة مستويات وظيفية لأعضاء الهيئة الأكاديمية المساندة والترقي في تلك المستويات استناداً إلى الانجاز العلمي والتفوق المهني بالإضافة إلى إيجاد بيئة علمية للتنافس والعمل على تطوير القدرات المهنية والعلمية لهذه الشريحة المهمة في العمل الاكاديمي والإداري في الجامعة حيث أن الترقية تمثل حافزا وتقديراً لإنجازات الفرد في تلك المجالات وتطبق هذه اللائحة على كل من المسميات الوظيفية التالية (موجه إكلينيكي بمركز العلوم الطبية - ومدرس اللغة – والمدرس المساعد).
تتم ترقية أعضاء الهيئة الأكاديمية المساندة بجامعة الكويت وفق شروط زمنية ومعايير محددة. وهذه الشروط والمعايير يجب أن تتحقق خلال سنوات الخدمة في المستوى الوظيفي الحالي للمتقدم وجدير هنا أن نوضح أن سياسية الترقيات تتسم بالتطور في طبيعتها ولابد أن تتغير تلك المعايير مع الزمن استجابة لنمو وتقدم الجامع.

أولاً: معاييــر الترقيــــــة:

تتكون معايير الترقية من العناصر التالية:

1-الأداء التدريسي ويستند تقييم الأداء التدريسي إلى العناصر التالية:

تأليف كتاب أو المشاركة في تأليف كتاب دراسي.
تأليف أو المشاركة في تأليف دليل للمقررات المختبرية.
الإشراف على مشاريع الطلبة وعضوية لجان الامتحانات.
الالتزام بالتدريس وبالساعات المكتبة وتوفير العناية والاهتمام للطلبة .
انشطة التطوير الذاتي التي تؤدي إلى رفع كفاءة التدريس من خلال حضور مؤتمرات وورش العمل والدورات التدريبة الخاصة بالتدريس.
تقييم الطلاب للأداء التدريسي إن وجد.
تقييم الأداء التدريسي من قبل لجنة تشكل بالأقسام العلمية في كليات مركز العلوم الطبية.

2- الانتاج العلمي ويستند إلى العناصر التالية:

نشر بحوث علمية قسم التدقيق المالي والمراجعة.
تأليف كتاب بحثي أو فصل في كتاب بحثي.
مشاركة علمية (ملخص Abstract - ملصق poster – حضور مؤتمرات علمية).

3-الأداء الاداري.

ويستند تقيم الأداء الإداري إلى استيفاء ما يلي:

أ‌- مضى (5) سنوات خدمة فعلية(*) أو اعتبارية في المستوى الوظيفي على الاقل.
ب‌- الحصول على تقدير ممتاز في التقرير السنوي لأخر عامين متتالين قبل التقدم للترقية.

ثانياً: متطلبــات الترقيـــــة:

الترقية من المستوي الوظيفي الرابع (موجه إكلينيكي ب- مدرس لغة ب- مدرس مساعد ب ) إلى المستوي الوظيفي الثالث (موجه إكلينيكي أ- مدرس لغة أ – مدرس مساعد أ ) لا تتطلب شرط الانتاج العلمي و تستند الترقية على استيفاء معياري الأداء التدريسي و الأداء الاداري فقط. .
عند الترقية من المستوي الوظيفي الثالث (موجه إكلينيكي أ- مدرس لغة أ – مدرس مساعد أ ) إلى المستوي الوظيفي الثاني (محاضر إكلينيكي– مدرس لغة مشارك – مدرس مساعد مشارك ) يشترط تقديم أحد عناصر الانتاج العلمي المذكور أعلاه خلال مده شغل الدرجة الوظيفية بالإضافة إلى استيفاء معياري الأداء التدريسي و الأداء الاداري
- عند الترقية من المستوي الوظيفي الثاني (محاضر إكلينيكي– مدرس لغة مشارك – مدرس مساعد مشارك ) إلى المستوي الوظيفي الاول ( محاضر أول إكلينيكي – مدرس لغة أول- مدرس مساعد أول ) يشترط تقديم بحث واحد على الأقل منشور أو مقبول للنشر في مجلة علمية أو في مؤتمر محلي أو دولي في مجال التخصص العام للمتقدم بالإضافة إلى تقديم أحد عناصر الانتاج العلمي المذكور أعلاه خلال فترة الدرجة الوظيفية الحالية بالإضافة إلى استيفاء معياري الأداء التدريسي و الأداء الاداري .

ويقع على عاتق المتقدم ورئيس القسم العلمي / الوحدة تقديم كافة المعلومات التي توثق درجة المشاركة والانجاز وفق معايير الترقية

ثالـــثاً: إجـــــــراءات الترقيــــــــــة:

1- يتقدم من يرغب في الترقية بطلب إلى رئيس القسم أو رئيس وحدة اللغة التي يتبعها ويرفق المستندات التالية:
السيرة الذاتية .
الانتاج العلمي للترقية كما هو موضح اعلاه .
التميز في الأداء التدريس كما هو موضح اعلاه .

2- يقوم رئيس/ الوحدة القسم بمخاطبة إدارة شئون الهيئة الاكاديمية بواسطة العميد لاعتماد شروط المدة الزمنية اللازمة للترقية وشرط الحصول على تقريرين سنويين بتقدير(ممتاز) لأخر عاميين متتاليين قبل التقدم للترقية .

3- في حالة استيفاء شرط المدة الزمنية يحيل رئيس القسم /الوحدة طلب الترقية إلى لجنة الترقيات بالقسم / الوحدة لتقييم الطلب في ضوء معايير ومتطلبات الترقية .

4- في حالة الموفقة على الترقية تقوم اللجنة بأعداد ملف الترقية ورفع توصياتها إلى عميد الكلية والذي يرفعه بدوره إلي نائب مدير الجامعة للشئون العلمية مع أرفاق تقرير متضمناً رأيه حول قيد النظر بعد العرض على اللجنة المتخصصة .

5- يحيل نائب مدير الجامعة للشئون العلمية توصية الكلية بالترقية إلى لجنة التعيينات في الوظائف الأكاديمية من غير أعضاء هيئة التدريس على مستوى الجامعة والمشكلة من مدير الجامعة للنظر بالترقية ورفع توصيتها النهائية بشأن الترقية إلى مدير الجامعة .

6- يصدر قرار الترقية من مدير الجامعة .

7- يجب ألا يقل المستوى الوظيفي لأى عضو من الأعضاء باللجان المختصة بالقسم أو الوحدة أو بالكلية عن المستوى الوظيفي للمتقدم .

8- يجوز للجان المختصة في ضوء تقييم طلب الترقية أن تقدم توصية مسببة بعدم المضي في إجراءات الترقية ويجوز للمتقدم في هذه الحالة التقدم للترقية متى ما استوفى الشروط المطلوبة .

9- تحاط جميع المداولات والتقارير الخاصة بالترقيات بإطار من السرية التامة .

الهاتف : 7988 2498 965+ | الفاكس: 9146 2483 965+ | البريد الإلكتروني: webmaster.vpaa.ku@gmail.com
جميع الحقوق محفوظة © 2016 جامعة الكويت - نائب مدير الجامعة للشؤون العلمية